What if your time was not wasted? by Linda G. Hill

Enjoy an exclusive guest post from Linda G. Hill, author of “Wasted,” featured in our ON TIME anthology.

My stories are often born of the question, “What if…?” However, I don’t usually start off with one, as I did in the case of Wasted, my short story in the ON TIME anthology.

What if your time was not wasted?

From that leading question, the story accumulated “what if”s: what if a woman without much of a life met a man online? What if he turned out to be a monster? What if it was worth it?

Of course, all this had to revolve around the concept of time, the theme of the anthology.

So I sat on the deck of a lakeside restaurant with these questions in mind and wrote my paranormal tale while I feasted on the most wonderful poutine. What came out of it (the writing of the story, not the plate of French fries, gravy and cheese curds) is the culmination of the reality that there are predators out there, and there are people lonely enough to fall into their grasp.

I’ve long been inspired by the horror that the people we meet, while perfectly nice on the surface, might harbor a blackness that draws others in. And that the worst of them seem to hide their hideous nature the best. Add to that the Internet’s gift of inadequate communication, the inability to use all our senses, and the recipe for disaster is compounded.

Still, it’s a time-worn truth.

I’m quite happy with the way my twisted tale turned out. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

OnTimeBookCoverKINDLE

Linda G. Hill is a stay-at-home mom of three boys and the guardian of one beagle and two kitties. She concocts tales in her head 24/7 and blogs at lindaghill.com. Linda’s upcoming release, The Magician’s Soul, is the third in a series of Gothic paranormal romances. Also available on Amazon, Apple, Nook, and Kobo are the first-in-series romantic comedy, Saddled, and her novelette, All Good Stories. She lives in Southern Ontario, Canada.

ON TIME is out now. Get your copy at AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo, or the exclusive hardback at transmundanepress.com.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. marianallen says:

    A tantalizing tease of a tale about time. Thanks for the insight on how your writing process sometimes works; that always interests me!

    Like

Leave a comment